Devlog #1

Devlog #1

173, WIP Gun System, ScD Spawn, and more

5/31/2022 - noisyaidan1022

Devlog #1

Hello, and thanks for reading the first devlog. There is going to be a bit to cover this time so if you are not interested in reading it all, I'll leave a TL:DR (too long, didn't read) at the end to summarize what this post will cover.

-- Personal Note --

I'll have been here for exactly one year on the 2nd of June, but some of you have been here for longer than that. Actually, probably a lot of you. However, only recently has a lot of work started to be done. Firstly, I'd like to apologize for the lack of work that I personally have been doing. For Ambassador (Amba), I know that he has done quite a bit of work over this time period. While not much has been shown, I hope this log will keep you guys updated and informed on the development of the site. Maybe one day we can even get the site finished (/s)!

State of the site, workflow, and programming updates

At the moment, I've made a Trello to organize our objectives, and I hope to soon release a community version, once I can sneak it past Amba. If you are interested in this, let us know. Site-wise, progress has been coming steadily since earlier this month. At the moment most of Amba's focus has been on the first floor and ACZ. A few notable locations have been finished, including the containment cell for 173 and the science department's spawn location. Though images of the ScD spawn were first posted in December of 2021, more work has gone into it and it is now completely finished. More images will follow in the Pictures section.

(ScD spawn) image.png

(173 Containment) image.png

Programming-wise, I've been hard at work making 173's programming good, and working on a gun system (though the gun system might be due for an overhaul at this point). Other systems that have been finished include

  1. Door systems
  2. A custom hotbar and inventory UI and system.
  3. Vending machines
  4. A portion of the main menu GUI
  5. A radio system
  6. 914's model image.png

Of course, there are some other things I would love to mention, but they'll have to wait until Amba caves to peer pressure and lets me say them.

Development in the coming weeks (the month of June)

Upcoming, we will be working on finishing the main menu GUI, SCP-914's scripts, a remake of SCP-049 (and some secret features for him that you guys will enjoy), and finishing the rest of the spawns.

There will be a significant slow-down in development for the next 3 weeks. I'll still be active, working when I can, but I'm set to move to a new house sometime next month. On top of this, Amba will be leaving for 3 weeks starting June 3rd. I promise we will get straight back to work when this is all over, and there will be even more great content to take a peek at once we return entirely. However, as I've mentioned, I'll still be as active as possible and I'll continue to post this devlog every week to keep you guys updated.

Pictures

173's containment room: image.png image.png image.png image.png

Stairwell: image.png

ScD Spawn: image.png image.png

Below ScD Spawn: image.png

Q&A

If you want your question answered, submit your questions to noisyaidan1022 in a DM, and let me know that it's for the devlog.

Q: When will the site be finished?

A: It's been a long time, we know, trust us. We don't have a definitive date at the moment, but our hopes are that it will be finished by the end of the year.

Q: Will there be another remake of the site?

A: No.

Q: How much are they paying you?

A: 1 glorgleblog an hour.

Q: Patience is a virtue but why does it take TWO WHOLE YEAAAAARRRRSSSSS for an SCPF to even start up?

A: A lack of motivation, mostly. As well as some perfectionism and lack of time. However, we are now very motivated and working at a lightning pace in comparison to before.

Final Note

I truly wish there was more to show, but for the time being, I hope this suffices. Stay tuned for next week's post if you are interested in learning more about the development of the site. Both me and Amba stream development every once in a while, so if you are interested make sure to check for those and watch when we come online.

TL:DR / Summary

  • Development will be slowing down for the next few weeks as Amba and I have urgent things to attend to.
  • SCP-173, a gun system, SCP-914's model, and a door system are some key things finished this month.
  • Before we leave, we will be working on SCP-049, spawn locations, and SCP-914's scripts.